SEO News
Search

UK Royal Wedding Will Be Televised Globally via YouTube

allen-jonathan70
by , Comments

Hot on the heels of their latest 'Live' landing page, is the news that the BBC's coverage of the royal wedding will be streamed live on YouTube on The Royal Channel, dubbed "the Official Channel of The British Monarchy."

It is with some humility that, in discussion with Google's PR team in the UK, SEW found out that this is an altruistic collaboration with Clarence House and the footage will be provided by the BBC.

No money for the rights to broadcast has exchanged hands. YouTube has built the app free of charge but, what is much more impressive, is that the bill for streaming costs will be footed by Google.

Here are some details from the announcement which tell you how you can watch the live stream.

"The live stream will begin at 10:00am BST (9:00am GMT, 2:00am PT, 5:00am ET) on Friday, April 29, and will follow the wedding procession, marriage ceremony at Westminster Abbey and balcony kiss. Alongside the live stream, The Royal Channel will also feature live blog commentary of the event to give timely updates and insights as the day unfolds. For those of you in different time zones, the footage will be reshown in its entirety directly following the event and will be available in full on the site to view afterward."

The first royal wedding to be broadcast on TV was over 50 years ago and had more than 20 million viewers. This year's royal wedding is likely to be the biggest non-sporting event of the year, if not the biggest event of the year.

The YouTube blog notes that this wedding "is already heralded as the first of the Internet age, where for the first time in thousands of years of royal history, the moment will be captured online and preserved forever" - so let's hope their servers can handle it!

If the popularity of the fake royal wedding video (embedded below) is anything to go by, then Google may have a challenge on it's hands.

T-Mobile's spoof royal wedding video, remixes the internet famous JK wedding entrance meme to the tune of almost 2 million video views a day.

spoof-royal-wedding.png

ClickZ Live New York What's New for 2015?
You spoke, we listened! ClickZ Live New York (Mar 30-Apr 1) is back with a brand new streamlined agenda. Don't miss the latest digital marketing tips, tricks and tools that will make you re-think your strategy and revolutionize your marketing campaigns. Super Saver Rates are available now. Register today!

Recommend this story

comments powered by Disqus