Google Warns: Don't Insert Pages Into Users' Browser History

Google has warned webmasters many times about the dangers of using manipulative or deceptive behavior. Now Google has issued a special warning regarding a practice where a website inserts new pages into a user's browsing history.

While deceptive behavior has long been against Google's quality guidelines, for them to issue a special warning about manipulative or deceptive behavior, it means that likely they've seen a giant upswing in the number of users encountering this practice.

For example, when users click on a web page from the Google search results, but don't find what they were looking for on that page, normally they would click the back button and return to Google's search results. However, some users are instead being taken to a spoof search results page that is actually entirely advertisements, such as this:


This is something I have seen with a lot more frequency lately, and Google stance is that a website utilizing this practice could have manual action taken against it, including removal of the offending sites from the Google search index.

About the author

Jennifer Slegg began as a freelance writer, and turned to search engine optimization and writing content for the web in 1998. She has created numerous content-rich sites in niche markets and works with many clients on content creation, strategy, and monetization. She writes about many search industry and social media topics on her blog, and is a frequent speaker at search industry conferences on SEO, content marketing and content monetization. Acknowledged as the leading expert on the Google AdSense contextual advertising program, she runs JenSense, a blog dealing exclusively with contextual advertising. She is also the founder and editor of The SEM Post. She is known by many as her handle Jenstar on various webmaster forums.