YouTube Adds Email Notifications, Makes Uploaded Videos Private by Default

YouTube has announced new functionality, including an email notification system, alerting users when the video is done processing, and the ability to control when the video is published, keeping it private until it's deemed "ready" by the user.

YouTube has announced two new features that offer convenience and control in uploading and publishing videos.

An email notification system will send users a message when videos are processed. YouTube says this solves the constant-refresh problem users have when trying to figure out if the video is done uploading.

From YouTube, here’s an example of what that email looks like:

youtube-email-notification

(Note: looks like you’ll need to opt out of these messages if you don’t want them.)

The other new feature gives users more control over when a video is published, keeping it private until a user decides to make it available.

From YouTube:

“You’ll soon be able to decide when your video gets published, giving you as much time as you need to input the title, description, custom message to send to your subscribers, etc.”

YouTube says the changes start rolling out to all users this week.

TaggedYouTube
Want SEW higher in your Google results?Add as a preferred source

More in Video

View more
Digital Marketing

Five YouTube promotion mistakes that even experienced professionals make

Even the most experienced professionals make mistakes. And chances are that when you launch your YouTube promotion campaign, you’ll run into the very same mistakes. To prevent this from happening, we’ve gathered the most common YouTube promotion mistakes you can face and ways to avoid them.