Google Trash Can Recover Your Deleted Analytics

A new recovery feature for Google Analytics means that users will never again have to worry about deleting data or accounts. Today, Google launched “Trash Can,” which allows users to undo deletes in Google Analytics.

Trash Can is a safety net that saves information each time users delete a view, property, or account from Google Analytics. To use Trash Can, Analytics users simply select an account from the Administration tab and click the Trash Can icon. Then a list of deleted information appears, and users simply check off the information they want reclaimed and hit restore to return the document to its previous state.

google-trash-can

The only catch is that Trash Can only stores information for 35 days. After that, it gets deleted permanently.

While the feature hasn’t officially launched for Google Analytics, information is being stored in Trash Can as of today. When the product does appear in Analytics accounts, all deleted information should appear in the Trash Can folder.

Trash Can is a direct response to user feedback, according to a Google rep. “We heard from a lot of users that had mistakenly deleted their accounts, properties, and views. Especially in a multi-user environment, mistakes like this happen too often. Trash Can gives users a safety net, a chance to recover things before being deleted forever.”

Related reading

hp
clickstream-data
vaccine-impact-1024x730
Search Console Search Analytics
Simple Share Buttons