Google Desktop 3.0 Raises New Privacy Issues

Chris Sherman
wrote
about Google’s new Desktop Search today. One of the new features Chris describes
enables you to "use the Google Desktop to search across multiple computers." USA
Today

writes
that this feature "raises privacy concerns." For this feature to
work, Google has to copy your PC’s files to Google’s servers and then those
files are sent back to the PCs. As noted in the USA Today article, "previous
versions merely indexed files, without storing copies at Google."

The EFF is worried and
warns not to
use the feature. Should you be worried? If you are, you do not have to use that
feature. But what about the unsuspecting user who doesn’t fully understand that
data is being stored of a period of time at Google? I can see a reason for
concern there. Can we trust Google with our data?

The bottom-line is that we currently have a say, and we do not have to use
Google Desktop or that feature in Google Desktop. Also be aware that this
feature is NOT turned on by default. If enabled, data is kept only for 30 days
if not accessed, Google says. Google provides more info
here.

Related reading

Google I O 2016 on Google
A graphic showing the old Google logo superimposed over a faint search results page.
Shift London
471de69559512ff4f56b896ccedc6389