Signed in Google users around the world can now help Google figure out which sites aren’t helpful or useful. When users block a site, Google now incorporates this data into the periodic Panda updates to better highlight “high quality” content.
Google announced that on “most” Google domains, you should now see a note underneath or next to the URL (“Block all example.com results”) when you click the back button and return to Google’s search results.
For example, if you stumble across a lousy website that borrows your content, such as www.falconeconsultdesign.com, now you can hit the back button and ban them from ever showing up in your results again (that headline sure seems familiar…).
After a poof, the results are gone, and Google tells you they won’t show you results from that domain again. If you blocked the wrong result, you can quickly undo it by clicking the Undo link.
You’re also given the option to manage your blocked sites from a dashboard listing how many sites you’ve blocked, the date, the search that prompted the block, and the option to undo it if, for some reason, you want the bad results returned to Google.
This ability to block sites was introduced in the U.S. only in March, but it wasn’t until Panda rolled out globally that Google began using blocked site data from this and their Chrome Personal Blocklist extension as a ranking signal.
Will non-U.S. blocked sites become a ranking signal? It seems likely, and Google says “they may experiment” with it in the future.