YouTube's "Unlisted" Category Gives Privacy A Chance

Amid widely spread concerns over social media privacy, YouTube is trying to make the difference and make users feel more comfortable by launching its "Unlisted Videos" category.

YouTube.JPG

Private
So far, the only possible way to grant people limited access to your videos was to mark those as "Private". The people you give a sesame to for viewing the video would be given an url by YouTube directly and would have to have an account. In fact, this feature only allowed you to pick 25 happy fews and you video was still listed onto YouTube's database.

Unlisted
Now with the "Unlisted" offer, your video remains off the board and the URL gets sent to you only - giving you the capacity to a) share it with as many people as you want and b) take full responsibility of who you give it to.

If one of your lucky friends or family members decides to post the video on a blog or social media profile such as Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter - there goes your privacy: the video will be found and listed by search engines and visible to anyone who would like to take a look - so think before you email your mate who still thinks forwarding and 'replying all' to every email is cool...

About the author

Liva Judic joined Search Engine Watch and ClickZ in May 2010 as a news blogger. She has lived and worked across the globe in Madagascar, Switzerland, London, NYC, Asia and is now based in between New York and Berlin.

Her background is in government relations and financial media where she started out as a journalist at Bloomberg and became senior editor at AFX news (now part of ThomsonReuters). Prior to forming her own consultancy Judic was head of international PR for a head of state.

Judic focuses on facilitating brand and marketing transitioning for European startups moving to the US. She has been named one of the Top 50 Industry Influencers of 2014 by AGBeat